Friday, April 27, 2012 Donnie Wagner

Assistant Director of Championships




INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA has announced the field of 80 teams and 32 student-athletes that have been selected to participate in regional competition of the 2012 NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championships. The regional competitions will be conducted May 7-9.

The top five teams and the top two student-athletes not with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 15-19, at The Cardinal Club in Simpsonville, Kentucky as part of the 2012 Division II Spring Championships Festival. The Festival will be hosted by Bellarmine University and the Louisville Sports Commission.

There will be four regional sites in which two regions will meet and conduct regional tournaments. The regional tournaments will be paired as follows:

Atlantic and East

Southeast and South

South Central and Midwest

West and Central

Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institution's name.


Hershey Country Club-East Course; Hershey, Pennsylvania; hosted by Millersville University of Pennsylvania.

Atlantic Region:

1. Indiana (Pennsylvania) [Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference]

2. Concord

NCAA NEWS RELEASE Friday, April 27, 2012 Page No. 2 _________

3. California (Pennsylvania)

4. Charleston (West Virginia)

5. Clarion

6. Bluefield State [West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference]

7. West Chester

8. Davis and Elkins

9. Fayetteville State [Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association]

10. Mercyhurst


1. Joey Seabright, West Liberty

2. Stephen Genchi, Virginia State

3. Cliff Forbes, Chowan

4. Ryan Thomson, West Liberty

East Region:

1. Wilmington (Delaware) [Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference]

2. St. Thomas Aquinas

3. Post

4. Dowling

5. Bentley [Northeast-10 Conference]

6. Massachusetts-Lowell

7. American International

8. Goldey-Beacom

9. Franklin Pierce

10. Adelphi


1. Matt Horton, Saint Rose

2. Brian Allmendinger, Pace

3. Jeff Schaller, Concordia (New York)

4. Sam Deitte, Concordia (New York)


Rock Barn Golf & Spa; Conover, North Carolina; hosted by the Lenoir-Rhyne University.

South Region:

1. Nova Southeastern [Sunshine State Conference]

2. Barry

3. Lynn

4. North Alabama [Gulf South Conference]

5. West Florida

NCAA NEWS RELEASE Friday, April 27, 2012 Page No. 3 _________

6. Florida Southern

7. Rollins

8. Florida Tech

9. Eckerd

10. Valdosta State


1. Nick Brothers, Saint Leo

2. Bryn Powers, West Georgia

3. Grant Goforth, Delta State

4. Luke Brown, Delta State

Southeast Region:

1. UNC Pembroke [Peach Belt Conference]

2. South Carolina Aiken

3. Georgia College

4. Wingate [South Atlantic Conference]

5. Georgia Southwestern State

6. Armstrong

7. Carson-Newman

8. Barton

9. Columbus State

10. Coker [Conference Carolinas]


1. Adam Hedges, Belmont Abbey

2. Eric Kennedy, Lincoln Memorial

3. Matthew Campbell, Newberry

4. Greg Mergel, Flagler


Jefferson City Country Club; Jefferson City, Missouri; hosted by Lincoln University (Missouri).

Midwest Region:

1. Northern Kentucky [Great Lakes Valley Conference]

2. Ferris State

3. Indianapolis

4. Grand Valley State [Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletics Conference]

5. Bellarmine

6. Tiffin

7. Northwood (Michigan)

8. Ashland

NCAA NEWS RELEASE Friday, April 27, 2012 Page No. 4 _________

9. Findlay

10. Wayne State (Michigan)


1. Clarke Fry, Rockhurst

2. Joe Atkisson, Missouri-St. Louis

3. Shawn Vanderwal, Drury

4. Micah Skidmore, Saginaw Valley State

South Central Region:

1. St. Edward's

2. Central Oklahoma

3. Abilene Christian

4. Washburn

5. Arkansas-Fort Smith [Heartland Conference]

6. Central Missouri [Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association]

7. Midwestern State

8. Cameron [Lone Star Conference]

9. Northeastern State

10. West Texas A&M


1. Matt Jennings, Henderson State

2. Brandon Johnson, Dallas Baptist

3. Jack Garrett, Arkansas Tech

4. Riley Seitz, Newman


The Wigwam Resort; Litchfield Park, Arizona; hosted by Grand Canyon University.

Central Region:

1. Colorado School of Mines [Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference]

2. Colorado-Colorado Springs

3. Colorado State-Pueblo

4. Western New Mexico

5. Nebraska-Kearney

6. St. Cloud State

7. Minnesota State Mankato [Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference]

8. Colorado Mesa

9. Bemidji State

10. Concordia-St. Paul

NCAA NEWS RELEASE Friday, April 27, 2012 Page No. 5 _________


1. Eric Hieb, Augustana (South Dakota)

2. Minkyu Jeon, Colorado Christian

3. Charlie Laudermilk, Fort Lewis

4. Jon Anderson, Upper Iowa

West Region:

1. Cal State Chico [California Collegiate Athletic Association]

2. Cal State Stanislaus

3. Western Washington

4. Grand Canyon [Pacific West Conference]

5. Hawaii Hilo

6. Cal State Monterey Bay

7. Dixie State

8. UC San Diego

9. Cal State East Bay

10. St. Martin's


1. Troy Davis, Notre Dame de Namur

2. Garrett Howard, Cal State San Bernardino

3. Alex Marry, Sonoma State

4. Steven Warne, Sonoma State

California State University, Monterey Bay, defeated Lynn University in medal/match play by a score of 3 to 2, to claim their first men's golf national championship in school history. Kyle Souza, California State University, Chico, won a playoff with Daniel Young, Lynn University, to claim the individual title. The championships were hosted at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail – "Fighting Joe Course" in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, by the University of North Alabama.

For more information about the championships, log on to